To Ease the Passing of Time

To Ease the Passing of Time

Mother Nature

You must have watched videos of relaxing nature music on YouTube. What you see is magnificent scenery filmed mostly by drones; what you hear in the background is soft piano, violin or harp music. There are birds chipping in the trees, and there are fields of beautiful flowers with butterflies and birds flying around them. A genle breeze is blowing in the fields and in the trees. There are waterfalls and cascades of pure and pristine water flowing freely in the middle of the woods. There are deep forests of green with majestic mountains. In some videos, can see the sky full of stars. Sometimes, lost in the immensity of nature, there is a log cabin or a small farm with a narrow and winding mountain road leading to it.

 

Everything is so quiet and peaceful. It makes you realize how beautiful and grandiose nature can be, and it makes you feel so blessed and grateful to be part of it. I watch videos like these when I give Maria a back massage every other night. Since she is not able to see what’s going on the screen because she is lying on her belly, I tell her what I see, “There’s a little bird, Maria; it’s blue, orange and green. There’s a valley with a small river flowing in the middle of it; on each side there are mountains with snow on top, etc.”

 

If you have never seen any of those videos, it looks this one:

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmrVwqbYbFU

 

But I damn well know that if I were lost alone in the middle of the forest with no shelter and nothing to eat, I would be scared like hell and I would not be able to survive very long. There would be no gentle music to soothe my soul, only an agonizing silence punctuated by threatening noises. I would not know how to find anything to eat, except maybe a few berries. I would not know how to kill a bird or catch a fish, and I would not know how to start a fire and build a shelter for the night. I know for sure that if I were not found within a little less than a week I would be dead. And I damn well now that Mother Nature would not give a shit about me.

 

 

 



25/01/2024
5 Poster un commentaire
Ces blogs de Politique & Société pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres