To Ease the Passing of Time

To Ease the Passing of Time

Breakfast of Writers

Andrew and Peter are retired. They used to work together. Once in a while, every two months or so, they go for breakfast. They talk about their lives, about politics, and life in general. Even though they are not professional writers, both of them like to write. That’s one thing they have in common. This morning, while eating their western omelettes and drinking coffee, they are talking about what motivates them to write.

 

 

Peter: You like to write about the past, about how life used to be in the old days, when we were children and teenagers. You like to share memories of your childhood with photos of streets and buildings of where you were born and grew up. Why?

 

Andrew: It makes me feel good. That’s the best answer I can give you. For me, those were happy times. Writing about them is a way to relive those days and share my memories with others who had similar experiences. I find that very comforting.

 

Peter: I understand. I also know that for you writing about the past is not an escape from the present. In other words, it’s not a refuge from the reality of the life you are living now. You are well aware of what’s going on everywhere in the world, and you like to talk and discuss about it; but when it comes to writing, you prefer the past.

 

Andrew: Yeah, that’s a pretty good way to put it! But what about you Peter? Why do you write the stuff that you write?

 

Peter: The first image that came to my mind when I started writing after I retired is weaving a quilt. It’s like, you know, each article that I write is like a piece of material, and each piece of material has its own colours and patterns. I can write all sorts of things about the past, the present, or about politics, social issues and religion that don’t seem to be connected at all, but when I put them together, it makes sense…to me anyway.  It helps me understand myself better: why I became who I am, why I think the way I think… When I put all the pieces of material together, it creates a quilt that tells the story of my life.

 

Andrew: I think I understand what you mean. Writing for you is a way of exploring yourself.

 

Peter: A way of exploring myself…That’s very well said, Andrew. 

 

Andrew: But some of the stuff that you write, man, it’s sometimes pretty weird.

 

Peter: I know, but I always keep in mind what my wife told me when I started writing.

 

Andrew: What did she say?

 

Peter: She told me that I should never stop myself from writing what I feel like writing and never force myself to write what I don’t really feel like writing.

 

Andrew: Your wife is right. If we don’t do what we like and what makes us feel good at our age, when the hell are we going to do it, when we’re dead?

 

 

western1.jpg



28/08/2024
2 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Politique & Société pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 7 autres membres