To Ease the Passing of Time

To Ease the Passing of Time

I Was Afraid My Bonnie Bunny Would Not Come Back

It was really, really cold last night; it was frigging cold. It was like minus 27; and with the wind, it made it feel even colder. It was so cold that I was afraid my little bonnie bunny was not going to make it. I don’t know if it’s a he or a she, but it has been coming in the backyard of our house in Ottawa to eat around the same time each night for the last two weeks.

 

 

rabbit 2.jpg

 

 

Since I had read online that it is sometimes very hard for rabbits to find food in the winter, I started leaving lettuce and carrots outside the patio door. The rabbit usually comes to eat around ten thirty or eleven. At first, as soon as I opened the door while it was eating, it took off hopping its way to the end of the backyard in no time. After a few nights, it was no longer afraid. It just stayed there looking at me with its beautiful big brown eyes. And even when I opened the door again to give it more food, it just kept looking at me while nibbling carrots and lettuce.

 

Two nights ago, it came with a friend. Last night, it was alone. I knew that it was going to be very cold, so I asked him or her to come in. I said it in French and in English but it just kept eating. After it finished eating, it took off in the dark and cold night. Before going to bed, I told my cat: “See how lucky you are. You have a warm place to sleep, and you don’t have to search for your food. You are lucky to be a cat instead of a poor rabbit.” She yawned and stretched, and she went to sleep on her fluffy cushion inside her little house inside our house.

 

Today, I was talking with my brother-in-law on the phone. I told him that I was worried about my little friend. He told me that he had heard on TV that rabbits are the second most resistant to the cold animals after the polar bears. Around ten tonight, I was a bit anxious, and I started looking outside to see if it was there. I didn’t see it until a quarter after eleven. I had already left some food outside. Since I knew that tonight was going to be even colder than last night, I invited it in again, but it just kept on eating. It didn’t eat all the food; it saved some for later during the night or for breakfast tomorrow morning, I guess.

 

 

rabbit 1.jpg

 

 

After it had left, I turned on my computer and started writing about my little bonnie bunny. I must say that I would have been really, really sad if it had not shown up tonight.

 

 

P.-S.: It's ten after one in the morning. I have just finished writing my article. I looked ouside to see if the rabbit was there. It came back. It's right there eating a piece of carrot. The cat is looking at it through the patio door. I guess I'll turn off my computer and go to bed now.



04/02/2023
6 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Politique & Société pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres