To Ease the Passing of Time

To Ease the Passing of Time

Spirituality and Writing

 

 

 

writing2.jpg

 

 

In my own experience, I find that writing opens a door to what I would call my spirituality. After I published this article a few days ago, I decided to unpublish it because I was afriad that it would not make any sense to anybody who was going to read it. And then I came across this quote that made me think that perhaps the article that I had written was not so crazy after all. I decided to put it back.

 

If I had to write about spirituality, I would not know what to write. Spirituality is so vast and hard to define... When I think of it, I realize that I don’t know much about spirituality. I know a lot about what was written and said about it, and I could tell you about what I have read or heard, but I would not be able to add anything of my own on that subject. I also know that spirituality often comes from intuition, and that prayer and meditation can help.

 

My intuition often comes from others who have more intuition than most people. And when I try to pray, I keep wondering if someone is really listening; and if I sit down to meditate after doing yoga, my nose or my butt starts itching, and my mind won’t stop wandering and think about all sorts of stupid things like what I’m going to eat or do after I finish meditating.

 

For me, the way spirituality is linked to my writing is quite simple. I just write about what’s on my mind or what bothers me. Often times, nothing really special or spiritual comes out of it. It just gives me a clearer and better understanding of where I stand and what I think about different situations, subjects or people. I also think that writing is a very interesting and entertaining activity, and that it’s a good way to spend time in a creative and fun way.

 

Spirituality normally comes when my mind is flooded with words and thoughts, and something unexpectedly sticks out of that shit like a flower in a desert of sand or a tiny island in the middle of the ocean.

 

The last time it happened to me, I was writing about the skin problem that I had before I was finally able to get the right medication. It’s very painful and some people call it the suicide disease because it causes some people to take their own lives. I was writing about it and it took me to the very bottom of my sorrow and despair…and I found joy. And I thought of Beethoven who wrote his Ninth Symphony called Ode to Joy after he became deaf.

 

Spirituality is the compassion and love that I feel growing in my heart after writing about people for whom I thought I had no love. Spirituality is the serenity and peace that I felt after writing about the sometimes troubled relationship I had with my father. Spirituality is also the mysterious connection that I feel with people from the past that I never knew, but who were the ancestors without whom I would not be here today.

 

When it comes, I just let it flow. Sometimes it brings me to tears, but what the heck? Who said old men can’t cry?



22/08/2022
4 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Politique & Société pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres