To Ease the Passing of Time

To Ease the Passing of Time

The Job Interview

Jeff Chandler, a novelist and short story writer, is having an interview with John Ferguson, the personnel manager of a well-known newspaper. If he gets the job, Jeff will be a columnist for that newspaper. He will write thee articles a week on any kind of subjects. Let’s see how the interview is going.

 

 

John: So, Mr. Chandler, we’ve already established that you are a very good and well-liked writer with a fairly large audience. Could you tell me a little bit about the type of articles you’d like to write for our readers?

 

Jeff: Well, I’d like to write articles that would make people feel good. You know, about spirituality and that kind of stuff: understanding, sharing, forgiveness, hope. I’d like to build bridges between people. That’s what I’d like to do.

 

John: That’s very nice, Jeff, but that’s not exactly what we had in mind. You don’t sell newspapers and publicity with that kind of stuff. We need something that stirs passions, things that make people upset and angry. You know what I mean, Jeff?

 

Jeff: I think I know what you mean, John, stuff like what you hear on TV or read online every day. You want me to stir shit in order to make you make more money.

 

John: Don’t get upset, Jeff. You know damn well that this is part of reality. In our business, you don’t make money with good feelings and nice thoughts. Stirring shit is part of the game. It’s in the nature of the beast. It comes with the territory. So what do you think?

 

Jeff: I think we’ll have to end this interview, John. If I agreed to that, it would be like selling my soul.

 

John: I can understand that, Jeff, and I respect your decision. Sometimes I wish I could be a little bit more like you, but you know, in my position…

 

Jeff: I know what you mean, man, and I respect you too. You have a job to do and a boss to answer to.

 



27/07/2024
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Politique & Société pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 7 autres membres