To Ease the Passing of Time

To Ease the Passing of Time

True Love Will Never Fade

I heard this song for the first time a few weeks ago.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVoJgwLIuNA

 

I don’t know how I could have missed it since it’s been around for so long.

 

But maybe if I had heard it before, I would not have known how true it is.

 

It would have been like so many other love songs that you hear on the radio while driving your car without really paying attention to the lyrics.

 

But I heard it sitting on the couch all by myself in the basement in the middle of a pandemic.

 

There is something so soft and peaceful, and yet so quietly powerful, in the music.

 

And the words repeated over and over again True love will never fade, True love will never fade brought me back to yesterday when we were rolling in the hay all day.

 

And I thought of the times when you went away to your old country, and of that dark and dreadful day of 2002 when you told me that your biopsy for cancer came back positive.

 

And when I lost my job and you told me that everything would be okay.

 

Our love is not like the colourless old stepping stone that we found in the garbage, or the ones even older and more faded that you found in the garden, and that you said you are going to paint again to try to bring back their lost glory.

 

Our love is more like the stained glass of an old cathedral built hundreds of years ago to celebrate faith and eternity. It will never fade.

 

 

glass 3.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



27/10/2020
6 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Politique & Société pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres