To Ease the Passing of Time

To Ease the Passing of Time

Me and My Shadow

On a lonely dirt road between a row of trees and the sea, an old man was walking in the sun with his shadow as his only companion. Maybe it was his old mind playing tricks on him or the sun that had been hitting his head for too long, but the old man started to talk to his shadow; and maybe it was his old mind playing tricks on him or the sun that had been hitting his head for too long, but the old man heard his shadow answering him.

 

‘You’ve been with me for a long time.” he said.

 

“I’ve been with you all the way since the beginning of your life, whether you could see me or not, under the sun or in the glare of the moon, and even between the four walls of your bedroom.”

 

“So, what do you think of me?”

 

“You want the truth?”

 

“Of course, it’s between you and me."

 

“Well, I hate almost everything about you: the way you look, the way you talk, the way you walk, what you say and what you don’t say, what you think. In other words, you get on my nerves; and I think you're pathetic.”

 

“Wow! That’s pretty harsh!”

 

“It is, but you wanted me to tell you the truth, didn't you?”

 

“Fair enough! But is there anything you like about me?”

 

“I like our sense of humour, sometimes, but not always.”

 

“Why did you say our sense of humour?”

 

“Because I am part you. I’m no different from you. I cannot do anything without you. Wherever you go, I go; whatever you see, I see; whatever you hear, I hear; whatever you think, I think.”

 

"So, what what do you like about my...our sense of humour?"

 

"You can laugh at yourself. That's what I like about it."

 

“Apart from that, is there anything that I could do that would make your life...our life, better?”

 

“Let’s just not take ourselves too seriously. When we go back home, write one of your little stories about our conversation, but don’t make it a too serious or dramatic story. And finish with a song!! Everything is better if it ends with a song.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfKiHc6Ty1Y

 



05/11/2022
6 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Ces blogs de Politique & Société pourraient vous intéresser

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 11 autres membres